Topic : texting driving ban

1 - 7 of 7

Nevada bans texting while driving

Bus| June 20, 2011
The new law, which becomes effective on January 1, 2012, makes it illegal to text or talk on a hand-held cell phone while driving. Violators face a fine of up to $100 for the first offense; up to $200 for the second offense; and up to $250 for the third offense.

Indiana bans texting while driving

Accessibility| May 12, 2011
Under the new law, effective July 1, violators face a maximum fine of $500. The law extends the state's current texting ban to all drivers. Drivers under 18 are also prohibited from all cell phone use.
Accessibility| April 27, 2011

North Dakota bans texting while driving

The new law, effective August 1, will impose a fine of $100 on people caught texting while driving.
Accessibility| June 7, 2010

Georgia becomes the 28th state to ban texting while driving

Gov. Sonny Perdue signed an anti-texting-while-driving bill into law for all drivers in his state. The law also forbids cell phone use for young drivers with a provisional license. In addition, NHTSA has developed sample legislation that states can use as a starting point to craft measures to ban texting.
Accessibility| June 2, 2010

Vermont becomes the 27th state to ban texting while driving

The new law, effective June 1, imposes a $100 penalty for the first violation and a $250 penalty for repeat violations that occur within a two-year period. In addition, the law — which prohibits all cell phone use for drivers up to age 18 — imposes special penalties for such drivers if they are caught texting.
Accessibility| May 5, 2010

Wisconsin becomes 25th state to ban texting while driving

The new law outlaws texting by all drivers. First-time violators face fines of $20 to $400, along with four points on their driving records. Second-time violators face fines of $200 to $800. Police officers can stop motorists suspected of this offense alone.
Accessibility| May 3, 2010

Michigan becomes 24th state to ban texting while driving

The newly signed legislation explicitly prohibits a person from reading, writing or sending text messages while driving a vehicle in state. Mich. governor signed the bill into law on Oprah Winfrey’s No Phone Zone Day program.

More From The World's Largest Fleet Publisher

Automotive Fleet

The Car and truck fleet and leasing management magazine

Business Fleet

managing 10-50 company vehicles

Fleet Financials

Executive vehicle management

Government Fleet

managing public sector vehicles & equipment

TruckingInfo.com

THE COMMERCIAL TRUCK INDUSTRY’S MOST IN-DEPTH INFORMATION SOURCE

Work Truck Magazine

The number 1 resource for vocational truck fleets

Schoolbus Fleet

Serving school transportation professionals in the U.S. and Canada

LCT Magazine

Global Resource For Limousine and Bus Transportation