Management & Operations

APTA recognizes transit's top performers

Posted on August 1, 2002

METRO Publisher Frank Di Giacomo was among the outstanding individuals and organizations recognized at the American Public Transportation Association's (APTA) Awards Breakfast at the 2002 meeting in Las Vegas.

Di Giacomo was named Outstanding Public Transportation Business Member for his contributions to the industry. The award recognizes a member of transit's business community who has made significant contributions and shown extraordinary commitment to the industry.

Di Giacomo has been with METRO for more than 20 years and has been publisher since 1992. He's also been an active member of APTA's Business Member Board of Governors, serving on the history, bylaws, outreach, meetings and marketing/communications committees. In addition, he is the associate publisher of Business in Motion, the official newsletter of APTA's Business Members.

Emceed by Linda Watson, chair of APTA's awards committee, the program also honored several other strong supporters of the industry.

Entering the Hall of Fame was James L. Lammie. As CEO of Parsons Brinckerhoff Inc., he served on the boards of control for many projects, including the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority's Red Line and Blue Line and Bay Area Rapid Transit's extensions program.

Lawrence G. Reuter, president of MTA New York City Transit, was recognized as the Outstanding Public Transportation System Manager. During his tenure, he has helped to meet customers' needs for more and better service during a period of historic ridership growth.

H. Welton Flynn, chairman of the board of the directors of the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency, was named Outstanding Transit Board Member. He has served the longest term of any commissioner or board member in San Francisco and is known for his dedication to providing opportunities for minorities and women at the San Francisco Municipal Railway.

Distinguished service awards were given to Sen. Robert F. Bennett of Utah and Rep. Robert A. Borski of Pennsylvania. Bennett was instrumental in the development of the Utah Transit Authority's light rail system. Borski worked to address a broad range of transportation needs in the Philadelphia region.

Jeff Morales, director of the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans), received the State Distinguished Service award for helping to shift Caltrans' focus from building and maintaining highways to overseeing the spectrum of the state's transportation system.

Innovation awards went to the Illinois Department of Transportation's (IDOT) division of public transportation and the Chicago Transit Authority (CTA). Working with the Springfield and Rockford transit districts, the IDOT division has put online the first two in a series of regional maintenance centers to serve all transit agencies in the state. Meanwhile, the CTA physically moved the historic Homan Avenue Station to the Conservatory Central Park Green Line Station, preserving its historic character.

River Valley Metro in Kankakee, Ill., was named Outstanding Public Transportation System (providing fewer than 1 million passenger trips annually) for its dedication to safety and customer service. Ridership was up by more than 40% in 2001.

Santa Clarita Transit in southern California was recognized as the outstanding system providing more than 1 million and fewer than 4 million trips annually. Santa Clarita Transit offers a wide variety of services, including reverse commute services from Los Angeles and online pass sales that supplement an array of community pass sales locations.

Utah Transit Authority in Salt Lake City, Utah, was named outstanding system with more than 4 million trips and fewer than 30 million trips annually. The authority opened two light rail lines one year ahead of schedule and under budget.

The Port Authority Trans-Hudson (PATH) in Jersey City, N.J., captured the award for outstanding system providing more than 30 million trips annually. PATH employees demonstrated tremendous bravery and loyalty in extremely difficult circumstances on September 11, 2001.

View comments or post a comment on this story. (0 Comments)

More News

SinglePoint, Passengera align to provide infotainment platform

The powerful passenger infotainment solution will be on display at SinglePoint’s booth #720 at the 2017 UMA Expo in St. Louis.

Sound Transit ridership up 23% in 2016 systemwide

Ridership growth particularly picked up late in the year. Average weekday ridership during the fourth quarter increased 27.9% over the same period in 2015, with light rail weekday ridership growing 83.8%.

Findings of Toronto transit report kept secret from public

In June, the City paid the firm to provide business case analyses for several projects planned by the city, including Mayor John Tory’s original “SmartTrack” idea for additional stops along the GO Transit rail line travelling through Toronto, and the controversial one-stop Scarborough subway extension.

HART leasing Teslas to expand rideshare program

The HART HyperLINK program partners with Transdev to provide direct connections from door to bus stop through an on-demand ride-hailing service similar to Uber,

WTC Oculus safety improvements possible following death of woman

Jenny Santos plunged from the C1 level escalator early Saturday morning as she was grabbing her twin sister's hat. She was brought to Bellevue Hospital and pronounced dead.

See More News

Post a Comment

Post Comment

Comments (0)

More From The World's Largest Fleet Publisher

Automotive Fleet

The Car and truck fleet and leasing management magazine

Business Fleet

managing 10-50 company vehicles

Fleet Financials

Executive vehicle management

Government Fleet

managing public sector vehicles & equipment


Work Truck Magazine

The number 1 resource for vocational truck fleets

Schoolbus Fleet

Serving school transportation professionals in the U.S. and Canada

LCT Magazine

Global Resource For Limousine and Bus Transportation

Please sign in or register to .    Close