Real Boissonneault, president of Quebec’s Autocar Excellence, was named “Operator of the Year” at the International Motorocoach Group’s (IMG) Strategic Alliance Meeting in Norfolk, Va.

Each year, IMG shareholders recognize one of their own for this honor, based on a criterion of operational excellence, safety performance, best practices, community and motorcoach industry involvement, and engagement within IMG.

A panel of past winners, Starr, The Free Enterprise System and Southern Coaches were tasked with choosing the eventual winner.

“It is a great honor to receive this prestigious award and a very special feeling to be recognized by my peers,” Boissonneault said. “Autocar Excellence's entire team deserves this award as they are the people who make it happen.”

With a history in transportation in his younger days, Boissonneault established Autocar Excellence to focus on the charter bus industry in 1986. With a simple vision of quality customer service and uncompromised safety as core values, Boissonneault surrounds himself with partners who share the same vision. Starting with three motorcoaches, the fleet has grown to over 80 vehicles, with Autocar Excellence now servicing a territory that includes; Quebec City, Montreal, Trois-Rivières, Bas St-Laurent and New Brunswick.

Key to Autocar Excellence’s success has been working with customers and providing continued excellence.

IMG President, Bronwyn Wilson, “Autocar Excellence is a wonderful company that reflects IMG values through and through. We are delighted to bestow this honor on the Autocar Excellence team.”

Kirsty Merritt and Dennis Streif.

Kirsty Merritt and Dennis Streif.

As is tradition, IMG unveiled the “Operator of the Year” motorcoach, designed and painted by Turbo Images and featuring Autocar Excellence’s logo along with a background collage of their areas of operations in Canada.

IMG also named Kristy Merritt as its 2016 Partner of the Year, as well as its new leadership at the event:

  • Real Boissonneault, Autocar Excellence, chairman.
  • Gary Krapf, Krapf’s Coaches, vice chairman.
  • John Adams, Southern Coaches, secretary & treasurer.
  • Dennis Streif, Vandalia Bus Lines, after two years as chairman moves into the role of past chairman.