Security and Safety

SacRT among agencies recognized with TSA's Gold Standard Award

Posted on April 9, 2019

TSA Federal Security Director Sid Hanna (right) presented the award to SacRT’s GM/CEO Henry Li.
TSA Federal Security Director Sid Hanna (right) presented the award to SacRT’s GM/CEO Henry Li.

The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) honored California’s Sacramento Regional Transit District (SacRT) with the prestigious Gold Standard Award at a meeting of the transit agency’s Board of Directors meeting. TSA Federal Security Director Sid Hanna presented the award to SacRT’s GM/CEO Henry Li.

The Gold Standard Award is the top recognition TSA can give to a transit agency for achieving top scores during an annual review of 17 categories of security and emergency preparedness elements. The review evaluates several aspects of a transit agency’s operations including the security plan; security training; drills and exercise programs; public outreach efforts; and background check processes.

TSA has oversight of 6,800 public transit agencies in the country. Every year, the TSA assesses a select number of transit agencies nationwide for evaluation through its Baseline for Security Enhancement (BASE) program. A select few achieve scores high enough to receive the Gold Standard Award.

In the most recent round of BASE evaluations, TSA reviewed 92 transit agencies. This is the first time SacRT has earned the Gold Standard Award.

SacRT operates approximately 70 bus routes, including fixed-route, dial-a-ride and microtransit, 43 miles of light rail and ADA paratransit services. It serves a 400-square mile area throughout Sacramento County, which includes service in the cities of Citrus Heights, Folsom, Rancho Cordova, and Elk Grove. Sacramento buses and light rail trains operate 365 days a year. SacRT's entire bus and light rail system is accessible to the disabled community.

SacRT was one of seven transit agencies nationwide to be honored with the award during the most recent evaluation phase. Other agencies that received the Gold Standard Award are North County Transit District in North County San Diego, California; Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority in Pinellas County, Florida; Denver’s Regional Transportation District; MetroLink St. Louis; the Regional Transportation Commission Washoe in Reno, Nev.; and the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority.

View comments or post a comment on this story. (0 Comments)

More News

Metra launches 'COPS' safety mobile app

The app automatically disables the user’s smartphone flash to ensure discretion, and reports can be made anonymously.

RTC of Southern Nevada showcases 'work zone of the future' tech

Demo included traffic cones, barrels, arrow boards, construction, and inspection vehicles — all outfitted with new tech that can communicate with passing vehicles and traffic engineers

D.C. Metro campaign aims to 'STOP' harassment

The ads empower riders to report and intervene if they witness or experience an incident of harassment.

Chicago completes surveillance camera upgrade on rail system

In total, 660 existing cameras were upgraded and 340 cameras were added.

SEPTA deploys new enforcement program for fare evasion, violations

Streamlines incident handling process, which will allow for SEPTA Police officers to focus on their core patrol and enforcement duties.

See More News

Post a Comment

Post Comment

Comments (0)

More From The World's Largest Fleet Publisher

Automotive Fleet

The Car and truck fleet and leasing management magazine

Business Fleet

managing 10-50 company vehicles

Fleet Financials

Executive vehicle management

Government Fleet

managing public sector vehicles & equipment


Work Truck Magazine

The number 1 resource for vocational truck fleets

Schoolbus Fleet

Serving school transportation professionals in the U.S. and Canada

LCT Magazine

Global Resource For Limousine and Bus Transportation