The categories for awards included recognition for organizations, individuals, and innovations. - Photo: APTA

The categories for awards included recognition for organizations, individuals, and innovations.

Photo: APTA

The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) announced 14 organizations and leaders won awards for their vision, leadership, and commitment to public transportation.

The association will also induct six new members into the APTA Hall of Fame.

The 2023 APTA Awards recognize organizations and leaders in the public transportation industry in North America who have demonstrated leadership, are outstanding role models of excellence, and whose accomplishments and innovations have advanced public transportation.

“The achievements and legacies of our awardees inspire us all to continue striving for excellence in our industry and to make a lasting impact on the lives of countless individuals,” said APTA president/CEO Paul P. Skoutelas. “Congratulations to all who have been recognized for their accomplishments and for making positive impacts in their communities and our industry.”

Organization Awards

Outstanding Public Transportation System

  • SunLine Transit Agency, Thousand Palms, California – Three million or fewer annual passenger trips
  • Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority, St. Petersburg, Florida – More than 3 million but fewer than 15 million annual passenger trips
  • Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District (AC Transit), Oakland, California – More than 15 million but fewer than 50 million annual passenger trips
  • New Jersey Transit, Newark, New Jersey – 50 million or more annual passenger trips

Excellence In Inclusive Collaboration Award

Innovation Awards

  • Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART), Oakland, California
  • King County Metro, Seattle, Washington
  • MTA Metro-North Railroad, New York, New York
  • Park City Transit, Park City, Utah

Individual Awards

Distinguished Service Award

  • Robert Nelson Clement, former U.S. Congressman, Nashville, Tennessee

Outstanding Public Transportation Manager 

  • Doran Barnes, Foothill Transit, West Covina, California

Outstanding Public Transportation Board Member

Outstanding Public Transportation Business Member

  • Anja Graves, Cardinal Infrastructure, Washington, D.C.

Hall of Fame

  • Michael Allegra, former president/CEO, Utah Transit Authority, Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Paul J. Ballard, Weaverville, North Carolina; former president/CEO, Fort Worth Transportation Authority, Ft. Worth, Texas, among others
  • John P. Bartosiewicz, KLC2 Connects LLC, Fort Worth, Texas
  • Julie Cunningham, posthumous, former president/CEO, Conference of Minority Transportation Officials 
  • Sharon Greene, Managing Principal, InfraStrategies LLC
  • Phillip A. Washington, CEO, Denver International Airport, Denver, Colorado
About the author
News/Media Release

News/Media Release


Our editorial staff has selected and edited this news release for clarity and brand style because we believe it is relevant to our audience.

View Bio